Juniors honored for achievements at annual ceremony

May 23, 2019 — by Elaine Toh

On May 20, 19 juniors were given awards for their academic achievements. The ceremony was held in the cafeteria. Teachers announced a student’s name and proceeded to elaborate on why teachers picked them for the honors.


Bausch and Lomb Honorary Science Award: Alex Wang (presented by Kirk Davis)

Brown Book Award: Abhay Manchala (presented by Natasha Ritchie)

California Mathematics Council Certificate Award: Brandon Wang (presented by PJ Yim)

Clarkson Achievement Award: Brandon Nguyen (presented by Audrey Warmuth)

George Eastman Young Leaders Award: George Bian (presented by Matt Torrens)

George Washington Book Award: Emma Hsu (presented by Matt Torrens)

Frederick Douglass and Susan B. Anthony Award in Humanities and Social Sciences: Ashleigh Abe (presented by Faith Daly)

Harvard Book Award: Michael Tang (presented by Amy Keys)

High Point University Junior Scholars Award: Jolyn Tran (presented by Matt Torrens)

MIT Leadership Award: Jeffrey Xu (presented by Kathy Nakamatsu)

Mount Holyoke College Book Award: Ranna Zahabi (presented by Natasha Ritchie)

Rensselaer Medal Award: Nevin Liang (presented by PJ Yim)

Smith College Book Award: Kaitlyn Thompson (presented by Rick Ellis)

Tulane University Book Award: Natalie Tarbox (presented by Matt Torrens)

University of Vermont’s Citizen Scholar Award: Krisha Minocha (presented by Faith Daly)

Wellesley Book Award: Christina Xiao (presented by Amy Keys)

Williams College Book Award: Sandhya Sundaram (presented by Natasha Ritchie)

Xerox Award for Innovation and Information Technology: Katherine Peng (presented by Audrey Warmuth)

Add new comment

Prove that you're human:

Photo of the week

The girls' tennis team faces against Palo Alto on 10/8.

Upcoming Events

October 25: ComedySportz

October 28: Red Ribbon Awareness

October 31: Trunk or Treat

November 5: WASC Collaboration (Late Start)

November 8: End of 2nd Grading Period


What time should school start?


Falcon In Print

Effort to curb vaping stepped up 

Industry experts take SHS TV to the next level 

Paperless Falcon leads to problems in funding